About Me

My name is Ashley and I’m a 26 year old book lover from the United States. Since I was very young, reading has been my first love. I wouldn’t go anywhere without a book in my hands. 

When I’m not reading, I spend my days working as a paraprofessional in a kindergarten classroom (always an adventure), spending time with my family, friends, sorority sisters, and fiance, planning my wedding, and attempting to write my own novel. 

Favorite Authors

  1. J.K. Rowling
  2. Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
  3. Sarah J. Maas
  4. Lalita Tademy
  5. Anne Easter Smith
  6. William Shakespeare (he totally counts)

…and many more!

Favorite Genres

  1. Fantasy
  2. Historical Fiction
  3. Contemporary
  4. Retellings/Re-imaginings of other stories
  5. Science Fiction
     

10 Random Facts about Me

  1. I’m an extroverted introvert. I do love people but I also really, really love being myself and having me time.
  2. I have one dog, an extremely mischievous Morkie named Coco, who has my whole entire family wrapped around her little four paws.   
  3. I currently am in grad school for a degree in Elementary Education.
  4. My formative late childhood/preteen years were entirely shaped by shows like Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Sailor Moon, Touched by an Angel, A Different World, Charmed, and Gullah Gullah Island.
  5. Though I love Gilmore Girls, I am not excited about the new revival and may be giving it a pass. 
  6. I am African American and Dominican with a smattering of Irish, Italian, British, and West Indian all thrown in there. 
  7. I’m a Potterhead and Whovian and I will be till the day I die.
  8. I’m a Christian. 
  9. Though I have not left the country, I am determined to travel all over the world, especially London. 
  10. When I was in college, I joined Phi Sigma Sigma and the years I spent as an undergrad while in my sorority were the best years I’ve ever had.

Bonus Fact 11. I am currently engaged and will be getting married in 2018! 

Advertisements